Scalloped Potatoes

28 Mar

One of my favorite comfort foods is Scalloped Potatoes. My grandma used to make these and add chunks of ham to it, it was so good. This is one thing that I really miss during the holidays, these and her stuffing were the best. I haven’t had stuffing that tastes as good as hers did for years. Then again, I rarely get to go home for the holidays. Anyway here is the recipe. You can add ham to it, trust me it makes it that much better.

  • 6 c. sliced, peeled potatoes (rinse one time)
  • 2 pt. whipping cream ( I didn’t say these were guilt free)
  • 1 1/2 c. milk
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/4 onion chopped

Put sliced potatoes and onions in greased pan.  Do not add salt.  Cover potatoes with cream.  Add milk to cover potatoes.  Then stir to separate.  Bake at 350 F covered for 1/2 hour.  Then uncover and remove starchy film.  Then stir and bake uncovered 1 1/2 hours.  Add salt and pepper when done.  Ham can be added, but heat the ham in microwave and add just before serving.  Serves 8.

 

I don’t think I need to add any nutritional value, especially when you see the 2 pints of whipping cream.  This is one of those dishes that you eat and don’t care about the nutritional value.

 

 

Leave a Reply

